Design
How much does a design system cost, and when does a product team really need one?
Published prices run from $8,000–$15,000 for a 50–80 component system on one product (a design agency, May 2026) to $100,000–$200,000+ with governance (a Norwegian studio, February 2026). A startup usually needs one when two or more people ship interface work at once. VITON13’s design system development starts from $113.
How much does a design system cost?
There is no single price, because “design system” covers anything from a Figma file of colour styles to a versioned code library with a team behind it. The figures below come from four firms, each pricing its own market and scope. Read the scope before the price.
| Source and scope | Price | Time stated |
|---|---|---|
| Luft, February 2026: open-source kit with a brand layer | $0–$5,000 | Not stated |
| Luft: foundation, 20–30 components, tokens, Figma and code | $15,000–$25,000 | 3–4 weeks |
| Luft: production, 50–70 components, WCAG AA guidance | $40,000–$80,000 | 6–10 weeks |
| Luft: enterprise, governance, a system team, several brands | $100,000–$200,000+ | 12–20 weeks, then upkeep |
| BAMN, May 2026: 50–80 components, one product | $8,000–$15,000 | Not stated |
| BAMN: developer tokens, documentation, several platforms | $20,000+ | Not stated |
| Homem Máquina (Brazil), September 2026: 35–60 components, Figma and code, governance | R$50,000–R$180,000 (about $9,600–$34,700) | 3–6 months |
| Autentika (Poland), June 2024: estimate for 40 components at 100–120 hours each | About $288,000 | 3 people, 10 months |
| VITON13: design foundations, a component library, governance documentation | $113 AI-assisted or $173 human-led | 10–18 working days |
Luft and BAMN price systems a small team can adopt. Autentika’s figure is an assumption that gives every component research, testing and documentation, so read it as a ceiling, not a quote.
What do you get at each price level?
| Tier | What is inside | It fits when |
|---|---|---|
| 1. UI kit with tokens | Colour, type and spacing as named styles and a few common components, in Figma | One designer, and the product changes weekly |
| 2. Components in Figma | A shared library of 20–40 documented components with variants and states | Two or more designers work in one product |
| 3. Coded library with docs | The same components in code (React or Next.js on the web), tokens as variables, a docs site or Storybook | Developers rebuild the same form in several places |
| 4. Governance and versioning | An owner, rules for proposing and approving changes, version numbers, a plan for retiring components | Several teams or products depend on it |
By the time a team calls it a system, tokens and code are usually included: zeroheight’s 2026 survey of 147 practitioners found design tokens in 86% of systems and code libraries in 78%.
Do startups need a design system, and when?
Not at the start, and then fairly suddenly. Luft ties it to stage: one to three people ship with an adapted open-source kit, and a documented foundation makes sense once there are paying customers and hiring has begun. The sources name the same moments:
- A second designer joins, or two people design at once. BAMN says they then need a shared source of truth; Luft marks the same point.
- Developers keep asking how much padding a screen has or which blue to use, or one form exists in three versions.
- Design reviews are about font sizes and spacing, not the product (BAMN).
- Three or more designers, several product areas, accessibility becoming important, or painful onboarding (Luft’s trigger list for a production system).
- Homem Máquina’s test: count the different buttons in your product. More than five and you have your answer.
What makes a design system cost more?
- Components and their states. Autentika allows 100–120 hours per component with research, testing and documentation; a text input and a data table are different jobs.
- Platforms. Web only is one scope; web plus iOS and Android is another, and multi-platform coverage appears in Homem Máquina’s top tier.
- Themes. Dark mode or several brands means every token holds more than one value and every component is checked in each theme.
- Accessibility. Luft’s production tier adds WCAG AA guidance; only 59% of systems in zeroheight’s survey include accessibility guidelines.
- Code. In Autentika’s button example the developer and the designer each take 24 hours; a Figma-only library skips the developer’s share.
- Migration. Moving existing screens onto the new components can cost more than the system; Luft’s illustration is a $50,000 system and a $150,000 migration.
Should you build a design system or adopt one?
| Option | What it is | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| shadcn/ui | Accessible components whose code you copy into your project and edit; free | Its docs call it the way to build your component library, not a library; Homem Máquina notes it gives components, not rules, owners or brand |
| Material 3 (Material Web) | Google’s open-source design system as web components | The repository says Material Web is in maintenance mode pending new maintainers |
| A custom system | Foundations, components and rules fitted to your product and brand | The slowest and dearest route; it pays when many people reuse it |
A common middle path is to adopt a kit, then spend a few weeks on brand. Luft puts that at $5,000–$8,000 for two to three weeks of a designer: typefaces, spacing, palette and three to five custom components. Homem Máquina warns that unchanged defaults make a product look like every other.
What does it cost to keep a design system alive?
A system is a product with users, and it decays when nobody owns it. Homem Máquina budgets 20–30% of the initial investment per year, which becomes half a person to three on larger teams; its yearly figures run from R$3,000–R$12,000 for an adapted base to R$15,000–R$45,000 for a product system. Autentika calls maintenance often the most expensive part, and NN/g notes that people need teaching even when you start from an existing system.
Ownership is the pattern: 83% of teams in zeroheight’s survey have a dedicated team, 71% even at organisations under 100 people. The budget pays for new components, accessibility and bug fixes, dependency updates, support for the teams using it and refusing changes that break consistency.
Does a design system pay for itself, and who measured it?
Treat every ROI figure as a claim with an author. Three kinds circulate.
- Models. Smashing’s 2022 formula, by two BestSecret Group designers, assumes about ten designers and thirty developers, a twelve-month ramp-up at 20% of their time and savings of 38% (design) and 31% (development) averaged from five published studies. The authors say the saving cannot be known beforehand.
- Hypotheticals. Autentika relays a 7.5-to-1 return from a made-up company with 1,000 designers and front-end developers; Luft’s payback of four to six months rests on his own assumption of 15–25 hours saved a week at $75–$85 an hour.
- Surveys. In zeroheight’s 2026 report only 5% of 147 practitioners measure ROI, and satisfaction with leadership buy-in fell from 42% to 32% in a year. A documentation-tool vendor runs it and respondents chose to answer.
Your own test: weekly hours lost to interface questions and rework, times a blended hourly rate, times 52, against the build price plus a year of upkeep. If you cannot estimate the first number, count the buttons.
When should you not build a design system yet?
- Screens change every week and the product has not found its fit. NN/g notes a system is time-intensive and needs people; Luft’s answer for this stage is an adapted open-source kit.
- Nobody can own it. In zeroheight’s survey under-resourcing is a problem in every operating model, and unclear ownership in two of the three.
- The pain is imaginary: few button variants, no new hires and no second platform mean the cost lands before the benefit.
- You can afford the build but not the migration. Budget for both or wait.
What would a design system and its screens cost with VITON13?
A system is usually bought with the product screens it serves. The totals add VITON13’s live starting prices in both production modes.
Cost calculator
Plan your design system
Tick what you need; the totals update as you choose.
Your estimate
- AI-assisted
- from $113
- Human-led
- from $173
- Timeline
- 10–18 working days
stages can overlap; the written estimate fixes the dates
Get a written estimate in 1 working dayStarting prices of VITON13 packages; the written estimate confirms scope and price after the brief.
Delivery: the design system 10–18 working days, the SaaS package 15–30 working days, the dashboard package 6–10 working days.
How VITON13 builds a design system
We begin with research into what your team ships today: screens, Figma files and elements that exist in several versions. Then we set the visual direction and design foundations, build the component library and write the governance documentation that says how the system is used and changed, and hand it to your designers and developers. The component count and platforms are written into the estimate before work starts. AI-assisted: AI speeds up the research and first drafts of components and documentation, and a designer checks every decision. Human-led: a designer leads and AI assists, which is why the second price is higher.
Design system development
- Price
- $113 AI-assisted or $173 human-led
- Timeline
- 10–18 working days
SaaS product design
- Price
- $213 AI-assisted or $313 human-led
- Timeline
- 15–30 working days
Dashboard interface design
- Price
- $93 AI-assisted or $113 human-led
- Timeline
- 6–10 working days
AI-assisted: AI drafts inside defined steps, a person directs and checks every result. Human-led: a specialist does the work and AI assists.
What is included
- Design foundations
- A component library
- Governance documentation
- Handoff to your designers and developers
- Delivery: 10–18 working days after the brief is approved
Not included
- Third-party fees: font licences, Figma seats, documentation platforms, hosting
- Engineering work in your codebase, unless the written scope names it
- Legal advice, or a statement that your product meets an accessibility law
- Day-to-day upkeep of the system after handoff
Revisions: 2 revision rounds on the deliverables
Get an estimate in 1 working dayWritten estimate within 1 working day
Example
PILOTPilot in progress
No published design system case yet
VITON13 has no published design system for a client, so this guide shows no before-and-after screens and no hours saved. The first systems are built in the pilot programme and will be shown only with the client’s consent.
What this does not prove
- The price bands come from the firms named in the sources and the thresholds from their own advice; none of it measures VITON13’s work.
Questions and answers
What is the difference between a design system and a UI kit?
NN/g describes a design system as a repository, usually a style guide, a component library and often a pattern library, plus the people who manage it. A UI kit is the visual part: colours, type, icons and ready-made components in a design tool. Without code, usage rules and an owner, it is a kit, not a system.
How long does it take to build a design system?
Published timelines run from three to four weeks for a 20–30 component foundation and six to ten for a production system (Luft) to three to six months for a product system in Brazil (Homem Máquina). Smashing’s model assumes at least six months company-wide, part-time. VITON13 delivers its package in 10–18 working days.
Can we start with shadcn/ui and add a design system later?
Yes, and for a small team it is the usual advice. Keep colours, spacing and radii as variables from day one, write down each change you make to a component, and review duplicates now and then. When several people need the same rules, document them: that step turns a library into a system.
Does dark mode or a rebrand justify a design system?
Not alone, but tokens make both cheaper. Homem Máquina describes token-driven systems in which each brand or theme sets its own values while the components stay identical. The extra cost is checking every component in every theme. For one dark mode on a small product, variables in your own code may be enough.
What should you ask a studio before accepting a quote?
How many components, with how many states each; which platforms and themes; whether the library is Figma only or also code; the accessibility level; who owns the system after handoff; which documentation tool and fees apply; and whether migrating existing screens is included. Two quotes compare only when these answers match.
Does AI make a design system cheaper to build?
Partly. In zeroheight’s 2026 survey 46% of teams were experimenting with AI in their systems and 10% had it built into their process, with documentation and code generation the most cited uses. VITON13 prices both modes: AI-assisted is the lower price, human-led the higher, and a designer checks decisions in both.
Sources
- Luft, Do startups need a design system? —
- BAMN, Design systems for growing companies —
- Homem Máquina, Quanto custa criar um design system (Portuguese) —
- Autentika, How much is a design system? —
- Smashing Magazine, The ROI of a design system —
- zeroheight, Design Systems Report 2026 —
- Nielsen Norman Group, Design Systems 101 —
- shadcn/ui, Introduction —
- Material Web, README —
- European Central Bank, euro reference rates —