Video

AI video generator pricing compared: what a usable clip costs on Runway, Veo, Kling

Every AI video tool bills in a different unit, so compare the cost of a usable clip, not the plan price. On 2 October 2026 one second of 1080p costs $0.08–$0.40 on Google’s Veo 3.1 API and $0.112–$0.168 on Kling’s. If one take in four is kept, multiply by four. VITON13 AI video starts from $53.

Five Reel covers side by side on black: an AI-generated woman lit by a screen above “Your website has 0.05s”, an AI-generated glass browser window under “Your website should feel like this.”, a wood-fired oven under “What’s inside a $113 website?”, a phone playing a raw coffee clip on pink, and small-business owners from stock footage around “Your business is one of a kind.”
From the case: Ten Reels rendered from code, with AI imagery, AI voices and stock footage

What do AI video price lists actually measure?

Not the same thing. Runway, Luma, Pika and Kling’s app sell credits that each model converts into seconds at its own rate; Google’s and Kling’s APIs sell seconds; BytePlus, which runs Seedance, sells tokens. Read the unit first.

Subscription and credit plans as each page printed them on 2 October 2026
ToolUnit on the pageEntry paid planNext steps up
RunwayCredits; Gen-4.5 uses 12 a secondStandard $15 a month ($12 billed yearly): 625 creditsPro $35: 2,250 credits; Max $95: 9,500
Google (Gemini, Flow)Credits per generation; Veo 3.1 Fast costs 20AI Plus $4.99: 200 Flow creditsAI Pro $19.99: 1,000; Ultra $99.99 or $199.99: 10,000 or 25,000
Kling appCreditsStandard: 660 credits, $10 list ($6.99 first month)Pro: 3,000 credits, $37 list; Ultra 26,000
LumaCredits per second or clipPlus $30: 10,000 creditsPro $90: 40,000; Ultra $300: 150,000
PikaCredits per generationStarter $10: 900; Creator $35: 3,150Fancy from $95: 8,550
HiggsfieldCredits, plus “unlimited” on named modelsStarter $19 a monthPlus $59 ($47 billed yearly)
Google’s row is its US page. Kling discounts the first month; list prices are shown. Higgsfield says prices exclude VAT and local taxes.

What does a second of video cost when you pay per second?

Pay-as-you-go prices compare most easily: a price per second.

Pay-as-you-go prices per second of output, read 2 October 2026
Model and sellerUnit printed1080p priceOther prices
Veo 3.1 Lite (Gemini API)Per second, audio included$0.08720p $0.05; no 4K
Veo 3.1 Fast (Gemini API)Per second, audio included$0.12720p $0.10; 4K $0.30
Veo 3.1 Standard (Gemini API)Per second, audio included$0.404K $0.60; Vertex AI also lists $0.20 without audio
Kling 3.0 (Kling API)Units per second; 1 unit is $0.14$0.112 no audio; $0.168 with native audio4K $0.42; packs from $700, valid 180 days
Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus)Dollars per million tokens$0.569 ($2.843 for 5 seconds)720p $0.231; failed generations are not charged
Runway’s page gives credits, not dollars.

One model, different sellers: Seedance 2.5 at 720p for 5 seconds, worked out from each page.

One Seedance 2.5 clip (720p, 5 seconds) across sellers
Seller and planArithmeticOne clip
Luma Ultra ($300)78 credits a second × 5 = 390 credits at $0.002$0.78
BytePlus APIThe page’s own 16:9 example$1.156
Luma Plus ($30)390 credits at $0.003$1.17
Pika Creator ($35)122 credits at about $0.011$1.36
Pika top-up credits122 credits at 60 per $1$2.03
Big plans reach these prices only if every credit is spent; audio settings differ by page. Read the spread as a magnitude, not a ranking.

How much does one usable clip cost once rejected takes are counted?

A page prices attempts; you keep only some. A usable clip costs the price of an attempt divided by the share you keep. No vendor publishes that share, so this guide assumes one attempt in four and also shows one in two and one in eight.

A 30-second ad needs 30 usable seconds; at one in four you generate 120.

Cost of generating 120 seconds to keep 30 (1080p list prices)
ModelPer second120 secondsPer usable second
Veo 3.1 Lite$0.08$9.60$0.32
Kling 3.0, no audio$0.112$13.44$0.45
Veo 3.1 Fast$0.12$14.40$0.48
Kling 3.0, native audio$0.168$20.16$0.67
Veo 3.1 Standard$0.40$48.00$1.60
Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus)$0.569$68.23$2.27
Real totals round up to whole clips (Veo 1080p clips are 8 seconds).

The keep rate outweighs the choice between cheap models: on Veo 3.1 Fast, 30 seconds cost $7.20 at one in two, $14.40 at one in four, $28.80 at one in eight.

Subscriptions are the same arithmetic in a fixed pot. Runway Standard’s 625 credits are 52 seconds of Gen-4.5, about 13 usable seconds a month; our ad needs 1,440 credits, two-thirds of Pro’s 2,250. Google AI Pro’s 1,000 credits buy 50 Veo 3.1 Fast generations, about 12 keepers.

None of this includes the person who reviews takes, adds text and sound and edits. To find your rate, run 20 attempts of your real brief, count those you would publish, divide 20 by that count and replace the 4.

Which plan fits which job?

  • Testing ideas: free credits, not client work. Google Flow gives 50 a day (two Veo 3.1 Fast generations) but may block free video from about 2 to 5 pm UTC; Runway’s Free plan is 125 one-time credits.
  • Ten to thirty social clips a month: one mid-range plan on the tool that suits your shots, not three stacked plans.
  • Clips with sound: Veo 3.1 always generates audio; Kling’s API charges 1.2 units a second with native audio against 0.8 without.
  • Hundreds of clips or automation: pay-as-you-go APIs; Kling’s smallest prepaid pack is $700.
  • “Unlimited”: Higgsfield says it covers named models on its own site only, with speed adjusted in busy periods.

Can you use the clips commercially, and what about watermarks?

Several pages tie commercial use to a paid plan.

Rights and watermarks as each source states them, read 2 October 2026
ToolCommercial useWatermark
RunwayTerms of 15 September 2026: no ownership claimed; commercial use not restricted if you complyStandard lists “no watermarks”
Google Flow and VeoIts Terms of Service govern; Google claims no ownership of generated contentInvisible SynthID on all output; a visible mark is added automatically if you live in India, South Korea or Vietnam
KlingPaid memberships list commercial use; the free tier does notPaid memberships list watermark removal
LumaPlus lists commercial useNot stated on the pricing page
PikaFree and Starter: no commercial licence; Creator and above: yes“No watermark” listed on every plan, Free included
HiggsfieldNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated
Vendor statements, not a legal opinion.

Runway’s terms add that inputs and outputs may train its models and may not be unique. Commercial use of outputs does not clear what you upload: a face, logo or song needs its own permission. Keep a dated copy of the page on the day you buy.

What are the audio, length and resolution limits?

  • Veo 3.1 makes 4-, 6- or 8-second clips; 1080p and 4K come only at 8 seconds, sound is always on and a request returns one video. Extensions at 720p reach 148 seconds in total.
  • Luma prices Ray3.2 at 1080p at 400 credits for 5 seconds but 1,200 for 10: one long clip can cost three short ones.
  • 4K is a premium: Kling’s costs $0.42 a second against $0.112 at 1080p without audio, 3.75 times more.
  • Sound can be extra: Kling’s API adds 50% for native audio; Runway prices speech and music separately.

Why do faces, products and text drift from shot to shot?

Each generation starts fresh. Runway’s Gen-4.5 page admits limits common to AI video: objects may vanish or appear between frames, and effects can precede causes. Veo accepts reference images; Kling lets paid members save reusable “elements”, capped at 50 on Standard and 150 on Pro. No page promises an exact copy of your product.

  • A face or product held across ten shots takes more attempts than one shot, so a sequence has a lower keep rate.
  • Where a label must be exact, use the real photo inside the scene.
  • We set words, prices and logos in design rather than generating them, so a new price is an edit, not new attempts.

Which labels and rules apply to AI-generated video?

  • EU: Article 50 of the AI Act has applied since 2 August 2026. The Commission says deployers must disclose a deepfake (realistic AI content resembling real people, objects, places or events that would falsely look authentic) clearly, at first exposure at the latest; a provider’s hidden mark is not enough, and artistic or fictional work may disclose more lightly. Fines reach €15 million or 3% of turnover.
  • YouTube: disclose realistic content that makes a real person seem to say or do what they did not, alters a real event or place, or shows a realistic scene that never happened.
  • Meta: requires its disclosure tool for organic posts with photorealistic video or realistic audio made or altered digitally, and may penalise omissions.
  • TikTok: asks for labels on realistic AI content and automatically labels anything carrying C2PA Content Credentials.

When is a tool subscription the wrong purchase?

  • You need a finished ad by a date and nobody will review every frame: the cost is hours.
  • The video must show a real person, a real result or exact packaging. Shoot it.
  • You have not measured a keep rate: buy one month of one mid plan, run 20 attempts, then decide.
  • You plan three subscriptions: their credits expire separately.

For finished clips instead of credits, VITON13 AI video starts from $53, creator-style variants from $53 and a labelled presenter video from $53. Credits on your own tool accounts are not included.

How VITON13 makes a finished AI clip

We treat tool credits as a cost of production, not the product. You send product photos, the message and where the film will run; we write a treatment, generate scenes from your photos, keep one look and reject frames where shape, label or colour drifts. AI-assisted: the models make a first pass of takes, and a specialist chooses what stays and signs it off. Human-led: a specialist spends more hours on direction, selection and finishing.

AI video production

Price
$53 AI-assisted or $73 human-led
Timeline
3–5 working days

AI UGC production

Price
$53 AI-assisted or $73 human-led
Timeline
3–5 working days

AI avatar video

Price
$53 AI-assisted or $73 human-led
Timeline
3–5 working days

AI-assisted: AI drafts inside defined steps, a person directs and checks every result. Human-led: a specialist does the work and AI assists.

What is included

  • 1 treatment: idea, shot list, look and what stays real
  • 1 film up to 30 seconds, generated scene by scene from your product photos
  • 3 formats from the same cut and up to 6 text frames set in design
  • 1 rights record: tools used, their terms and the AI label for each platform
  • Delivery: 3–5 working days after the brief is approved

Not included

  • Filming, actors, locations and travel
  • A talking AI presenter or avatar, a separate service
  • Stock footage, licensed music and paid credits on your own tool accounts
  • Legal review of advertising claims
  • Ad spend, posting and extra lengths

Revisions: 1 revision round on the deliverables

Get an estimate in 1 working day

Written estimate within 1 working day

Example

INTERNALOur own product

Our ten studio Reels: the tools, and what we did not record

Our ten studio Reels run 274.1 seconds. Their AI imagery was generated with GPT Image 2.5 in Higgsfield and animated with Kling 3.0, five carry AI voice-overs from Higgsfield Seed Audio, and the AI parts are marked in the frames. The case file records the tools, not the takes generated or the credits spent, so one in four is not our measured rate.

What this does not prove

  • It shows no keep rate, credit bill or price per clip; the arithmetic above uses list prices and an assumption.
  • Our own Reels for our own account: no client brief, no reach or sales data.

Questions and answers

Is Veo or Kling cheaper for AI video?

At 1080p with sound, Veo 3.1 Fast is $0.12 a second and Lite $0.08, against $0.168 for Kling 3.0; Veo 3.1 Standard is $0.40. The cheapest still depends on the clip, because Veo’s 1080p clips are 8 seconds and your keep rate moves the total more than a few cents.

What happened to OpenAI Sora?

OpenAI’s help page says the Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on 26 April 2026 and sets the API’s end for 24 September 2026. A price list that still quotes Sora per-second rates is out of date.

Do unused credits roll over?

Mostly not. Runway Standard and Pro credits reset every cycle and Max keeps one month. Pika plan credits do not roll over, but top-ups last 365 days. Google Flow credits reset each cycle. Kling’s monthly credits last 31 days; its API packs, 180.

Do I pay for a generation that fails?

Sometimes. Google says a Veo video blocked for an audio problem is not charged, and BytePlus charges only for videos generated successfully. A clip that generates fine but looks wrong is charged in full, which is why the keep rate matters.

Can VITON13 make the clips, and what does it cost?

VITON13 AI video production starts from $53 and takes 3–5 working days once the brief is approved; tool credits on your own accounts are not included. Creator-style variants start from $53, a labelled AI presenter video from $53.

Sources

  1. Runway, Pricing —
  2. Runway, Terms of Use —
  3. Runway Research, Introducing Gen-4.5 —
  4. Google, Gemini API pricing —
  5. Google, Veo 3.1 developer guide —
  6. Google Cloud, Vertex AI pricing —
  7. Google Flow Help, credits —
  8. Google Flow Help, Get started —
  9. Google, Gemini plans (US) —
  10. Kling AI, API pricing —
  11. Kling AI, Membership plans —
  12. Luma, Plans and pricing —
  13. Pika, Pricing —
  14. Higgsfield, Pricing plans —
  15. BytePlus ModelArk, Pricing —
  16. OpenAI Help, Sora discontinuation —
  17. European Commission, Article 50 FAQ —
  18. YouTube Help, Disclosing GenAI content —
  19. Meta, Labeling AI-generated images —
  20. TikTok Support, AI-generated content —

About the author

Vitalii Tarasov

Founder of VITON13 Studio · Dubai, UAE

Vitalii Tarasov founded VITON13 in 2026 and runs VITON13 Studio from its Dubai office. He is responsible for every studio project: the written scope and price, the direction of the work and the check before delivery. Studio prices in this guide are read from the service pages, so they match what you would be quoted there.

About VITON13

Services this guide leads to